The Stone Gods, Jeanette Winterson

February 27, 2010 scitina

I think the comparison between Billie and Spike is essential in the importance of this novel. Throughout the reading we discover that Billie is a human woman living during this time and Spike is a robo-sapien that was created to go on a mission to Planet Blue and will be destroyed after the mission in order to not compromise any data. We also learn that Spike is very attractive, even to Billie who mentions it many times. This is interesting because several times in the novel I found myself picturing Spike as a human. The way she is described and her intelligence made her comparable to a human for me. Billie also displays great intelligence and a sort-of resistance to the way the world is being handled during the time. However Billie shows very much emotion. The fact that she shows her emotion and frustration allowed me to envision her as more humanlike than Spike.

The two central figures are comparable though because they are put in many adventurous situations entering the new world. However, the story does introduce a love-like story along with a survival story. The emphasis on the two characters really makes me question what is considered human. It makes me think about if one feels love- shouldn’t that be considered human? Things like language, actions, sex, and personality are qualities that I associate with being human. Spike consists of these qualities and portrays herself in many ways like a human. However, there is always something me holding me back from completely classifying her as one. When it was described that she was built solely for one mission and had no purpose after that except for being destroyed really made me question the process because Billie was connecting with her. I think the author included this connection purposefully in order to create the question of human boundaries and it was successful in making me question them.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. osu323  |  March 1, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    Your comparison between Billie and Spike was very interesting and previously I had not thought about all the similarities between the two. I agree that it’s very hard to decide what qualifies as human and the boundaries can at times be very blurry. In your blog you say, “It makes me think about if one feels love- shouldn’t that be considered human? Things like language, actions, sex, and personality are qualities that I associate with being human.” I disagree with this statement because I think that non-humans do have the capability to love, especially when considering the case of animals. In my opinion, animals definately have the capability to love, I would argue unconditionally, and there is no doubt that I would consider animals non-human. Also, I believe that animals also have qualities such as language, actions, sex, and personality, although they may not be the same as these qualities in human. As we have talked about in class, the line between animals and humans is also blurry. I think that it is extremely difficult to construct a set of characteristics that determine humanity and as technology progresses it is only going to become harder.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts

 
